Posted by: toddzilla | December 12, 2007

We are blessed, I can think of no other way to say it.

Words often fail me and showing emotion is not my strongpoint, but I will try my best to put to words my blessings of the past week.  Tomorrow our little Layla will be a week old and it has been a week of wonderful emotion and joy where the lack of which would keep us from dealing with the exhaustion.  Throughout our pregnancy God has blessed us with wonderful health and making each milestone pretty much by the book.  The labor was long and tiring (I will write up the play-by-play later in case you’re interested).  Cheryl did not give up and she was a trooper through it all.  We are blessed with a beautiful and healthy and active child by a loving and merciful God.  We are thankful.  I pray that our lives may be ones that show that gratitude, not just profess it.

I want to thank the nurses and doctors for their thorough care and patience in dealing with a wife in pain and a worried “Chicken Little” husband with little to no knowledge and a lot of fear.  The staff were all knowledgeable, personable, reassuring, and inspiring.  I thank God for letting us stumble upon medicinal miracles to administer to his wonderful creation.  may we never think that we have perfected medicine.  God has allowed us that gift.  Thanks to the nurses…ALL nurses…for they do the work in the trenches for little glory or credit.

Thanks to our families who were waiting by the phone (Cheryl’s parents could not be there due to work, but we look forward to seeing them next week) or in the waiting room for 12 hours!  Thank you all for your support and teaching us how to be parents by example…and with integrity.  I hope that we may be able to raise Layla with the same integrity, love, and faith.  One thing that has become apparent very quickly is the inability to do normal things without help.  Our family and friends have come by to help Cheryl and I to accomplish those simple things (like going to the grocery store).

Thanks to our friends.  We have meals coming to us every night until the 21st!!!  That is, what 15 meals!?!  I am still amazed and my heart warmed by that.  We thank you all!  We have appreciated your visits, your calls, and your genuine heartfelt well-wishes.

I want to thank my wife.  I watched her face grimace and contort.  I saw her body moved in what seemed to be unnatural and pained ways.  I saw and felt her hold her breath when massive waves of pain overtook her.  I heard her say that she was not sure she could do this.  But she never gave up…not even close.  I watch now as she moves in funny ways, her body wracked by the pains and tears of a vaginal birth of an 8 lb. 6 oz. baby.  But I have not seen her complain.  I have not seen the first sign or heard the first sound of ill-will or regret.  I have seen pain and immense discomfort instantly healed by sight, the sight of our little one.  I have enjoyed her maternal instincts and joyful and playful time with our little Layla.

When I look in the mirror, I see an undeserving father blessed by a merciful God with an undeserved wife.  I can only hope and pray that I may be a good steward of my blessings.

Thank you family.  Thank you nurses and doctors.  Thank you friends.  Thank you God.  Thank you Cheryl.

I love you all!

Responses

  1. Todd,

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again that you and Cheryl will be great parents. This is your journey now – for the both of you – enjoy it. We’ll be continually praying for you.

    Peace!


Leave a Reply

Categories

