Posted by: toddzilla | December 11, 2006

Christmas and my DVR…

Its Christmastime and I love this time of year.  Of course, we all (are supposed to) celebrate Jesus’ birth and try to imagine the joy of truly waiting for such a joyous occasion as we participate in Advent.  Of course part of the season is the many memories associated with the celebrations and traditions of Christmas.  My wife and I drove out in the cold the other night in a tradition that I have not been a part of since I was a kid.  you see, my Dad would always come to me about this time of year as it was our tradition to go tree-shopping.  I still remember the smells of the tree lots, the friendly conversation over the heaters with the lot attendants and the joy of being a integral part of our family’s tradition because Dad trusted me when it came to picking the tree.  Our tree looks great in the living room and I haven’t enjoyed the smell of a real tree in years.

 Another tradition for me as a kid was, of course, the TV specials.  I remember planning an entire week, it seemed, around Charlie Brown, Rudolph, and my all-time favorite…The Grinch!  Well, this is the first year that I have had DVR…and you know we cranked it up for some Christmass specials.  I enjoyed Charlie Brown last night.  I think “Shermie” (the kid in the green shirt) had to coolest moves on the dance floor.  Each year…I had to find the Grinch and even with a VCR, I just never recorded it (no blank tapes around when I needed them).  The show was a great combination of two of my favorites…Warner Brothers cartoons and Dr. Seuss…throw in a Christmas polka and Thurl Ravenscroft’s and Boris Karloff’s voices and you’ve got a winner.  By the way…the Jim Carrey movie doesn’t count…we’ll leave it at that.

 The down side to the whole DVR thing is the scary combination of my wife’s taste in movies…and the Hallmark Channels, Lifetime Movie Channel, and ABC Family channels.  How many movies can you make a bout kids finding the “true” meaning of Christmas witht he help of Rob Lowe…Rob Lowe!!!  Does anybody remember that what killed (we thought) Rob Lowe’s career?  Now he’s a sappy Christmas movie star!?!

Well, anyway…the sights and sounds of Christmas always bring back memories.  be careful not to get caught up in the gift buying, decorating, and partying to stop and remember what made it so special when you were a kid.

 With that in mind…tell me some of your favorite Christmas specials and why you like them and the traditions that you remember most.

Responses

  1. My mom loves watching the Christmas Story, so Christmas Day is like her Super Bowl. Not only is it Christmas, but for her it’s the Super Bowl. That thing is on all day long. But for me, I love watching the old claymations. I have a hard time finding some of them. And of course, you can’t go without watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.

    Also, nothing beats a nice drive to go look at the lights.

  2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. And it doesn’t count if it’s on TV, it’s edited. We should all own a copy because, in the words of Cousin Eddie “That’s the gift that keeps on givin’ the whole year ’round”.

    Also, Muppets Christmas Carol. I love the Muppets, and I love A Christmas Carol, so it’s a marriage made in heaven. All except for the sappy love story they throw in the middle. Okay, I understand it’s part of the story, but did they have to dedicate a whole boring song to it.

    Lastly, I have to say I have come to love Fat Albert’s Christmas Special. I had never seen it before College, when I rented it for leslie and I’s weekly “Tuesday night, Movie night”. I only rented it because there was none of the classics available. I recommend you all rent it from Netflix or Blockbuster online or something. It is time well spent. I don’t want to ruin the ending, but story parallels both A Christmas Carol and the story of the birth of our Jesus, and it takes place in Harlem. If that’s not a recipe for success, I don’t know what is.

  3. Holy Cow! You mean they have a Fat Albert Christmas special? How could I not know about that? I feel so out of touch now. I love Fat Albert and will have to check it out.

    Yes…I know all about Muppets Christmas Carol. That’s Cheryl’s favorite…in fact, watched it the other night.

    Oh yeah, don’t stand too close to the microwave, it may make you wet yourself and forget your name for 30 minutes…what a great line!

  4. I haven’t seen the Muppets Christmas Carol in forever.

    And I don’t think NBC is running the Christmas Vacation this year because of NFL football.

  5. Always loved:

    The heat miser

    When the winter warlock turns good and Just puts one foot in front of the other and soon he’ll be walkin’ out the door.

    The little drummer boy-especially the scene after the roman chariot clips the lamb and the boy carries the wounded lamb to the manger and it is healed. Picture the claymation facial expressions and the lamb leaping for joy.

    I remember as a kid being really bummed on Christmas Eve because the TV specials had already done their one showing for the year and there was absolutely NOTHING to watch on TV. The yule log burned when the networks signed off for the night. Was that a million years ago or what???

  6. What no bowl games?

  7. Bowl game food.

  8. Heat Miser!!! I’m Mr. Green Christmas…something something something. It took me a couple of verses of that song to realize what he meant by green Christmas.

  9. First of all I start Thanksgiving with Macy’s Parade, I tivo it, and watch it skipping commercials and marching bands, and watch for floats, balloons, dancers, and broadway pieces.

    My Favorite is not shown anymore “It’s a wonderful life”, I also watch Miracle on 34th street,
    Any version of a “Christmas Carol” and don’t forget not to miss “A Charlie Brown Christmas”
    where Linus tells the true meaning of christmas.
    I also record local passion plays on tv around the time, and any christmas specail I can find.

    As for “A Christmas story” I am in the Minority.
    I can’t stand that movie


Leave a Reply

Categories

